Science Fiction

 

Science fiction has gone from an obscure scientific field of writing to a mainstream cultural phenomenon. Science fiction stories and books create universes that let all of us think outside the box of what we call normal everyday life.

From the early science fiction of Jules Verne and H.G.Wells through the Golden Age stories of Hubbard, Heinlein and Asimov and on to the many popular authors of today, science fiction and fantasy have entertained and educated millions. One of my favorites as a young lad was the Tom Swift series.

Today ideas considered fantastic when first written have become reality. Science fiction continues to point the way to the future.

http://www.dreamstime.com/-image15388235

A Science Fiction Novel
by Jack Thompson

In the not-too-distant future the United States sends its first manned mission to the planet Mars. When the crew of Mars Mission 31 discover an alien artifact, they learn the story of Plixon, a planet not so different from Earth where the population is monitored and controlled by a supercomputer known as the Godmachine. The story that unfolds follows the life of Ra’dall Simms, an unimportant citizen whose desperate need to make sense of his unraveling life takes him on an adventure that will change his world forever. When the returning mission crew relay the Plixon story to their superiors at NASA, there are major political implications which imperil both the lives of the astronauts and the future of Earth.

With great reviews coming in like “A chilling vision of the future with great characters to love and hate!” and “Godmachine is a great read any science fiction fan will love!” this science fiction dystopian tale promises to be another good read from Jack Thompson.

If you’ve been following the story of the recent landing of NASA’s Mars Curiosity Rover, or if you’re a fan of NASA’s Apollo missions, they you’ll almost certainly enjoy reading Godmachine.

As a bonus for all readers, along with the tale of the astronauts’ journey to Mars, Thompson cleverly weaves in the tale of the Godmachine. Both stories are heart-pounding and action packed.

These stories are skillfully crafted in such a way that Thompson is able to make us take an introspective look at our own human strengths and weaknesses.

I highly recommend this book for fans of Science Fiction and Space Travel, or for anyone who’s just looking for a quality book that’s fun to read.     

—Blase Ciabaton, Twisted Sci Fi

Buy GODMACHINE Now ($3.99)

 Amazon US | Amazon UK | KoboiBooks | Smashwords

SHORT STORIES

Hangtime

Dr. Laslo Reingard unlocks a secret about time which could help all of mankind. He finds himself targeted for death or worse by a self-serving government agency determined to control his discovery. Will Laslo master his newfound power in time to save the one person willing to help him? Hangtime is an exciting new short story from master storyteller Jack Thompson.

5-stars for Hangtime: I loved this story. The author drew me in to Dr. Laslo’s world and I found myself intrigued by his invention and rooting for him to win. This story is entertaining and well-paced. It is well-written and suspenseful with a nice twist at the end. There’s even a bit of romance. I highly recommend it.

Get Hangtime Now FREE: Kobo | iBooks | Nook

$.99 at Amazon

Blue is for Boys

After a weekend of fun and excess he can’t remember, Ravi wakes to a living nightmare that will change him forever. Soon he finds out where he is headed, and whether he likes it or not, who he is. Blue is for Boys is an outrageous science fiction short story with a new take on the battle of the sexes. It’s fun. It’s wild. It’s personal.

Book Buyer 5-star Review: Witty, brilliant and INCREDIBLY funny, Blue Is For Boys mixes down-to-earth attitudes, futuristic thinking and a whole load of comedy in a cocktail that anyone can love! And make it shaken, not stirred please.

I couldn’t put this book down once I picked it up. It’s hard not to downright burst out laughing while reading. The text is fresh and witty, but the characters are portrayed so realistically. I could easily put myself into Ravi’s shoes and imagine every step of his wild predicament.

This story is well worth reading for anyone who’s looking for a good time and a bigger laugh!

Buy Blue is for Boys Now $.99: Amazon | Kobo | iBooks | Nook

The Companion
This short story introduces Ax Weller, a space miner who has collected strange tales from his decades spent in the remote regions of deep space. “The Companion” is the tale of an explorer left for dead on a desolate moon and the unlikely relationship that helps him survive.

The Companion gets 5 stars: This is a great short story. It’s got a good pace, interesting characters and a surprise ending. I think it would have been great as one of the original Star Trek episodes. I really like Ax Weller. I’m ready for more of his tales!

Get The Companion Now FREE: Kobo | iBooks | Nook
$.99 at Amazon

*****